• 2020.06.03
  • 1804

Due to the deteriorating external and internal situation in Mongolia in the early 1930s, the government disbanded the Border Guard Police and established border detachments (brigades) and commandant's offices in 1933 to protect the country's borders with professional military forces. Modern Border protection organization formed In January 1933, as in a resolution of the Council of Ministers of the People's Republic of Mongolia assigned the Department of Internal Defense to protect the western and southern borders, and established the first border detachments and commandant's offices.

The journey of the Border troops is the story of the struggle and victory of the indomitable patriotic border guards, who timely detected the aliens who invaded the independence of the Mongolian people and strictly defended the integrity of their territory.

During the 1939 Khalkhyn Gol War, the 1945 Liberation War, the 1940-1948 Western Border Crisis, in the battlefields against the bullets and bombs, Mongolian bordermen defended their country's independence and sacred border. Hundreds of bordermen were killed in unbalanced battles. Their names are written in golden letters and will be remembered forever by future generations.

Hundreds of bordermen were awarded state medals who made special merits in contribution of the above battles, including fourteen bordermen, N.Jambaa, P.Chogdon, L.Davaadorj, B.Givaan, B.Tegshee, B.Dorj, S.Lkhagvadorj, S.Tumurbaatar, E.Shiileg, Kh.Damba, B.Badam, J.Nekhiit, D.Guulin and D. Namnan, were awarded the title of Hero of Mongolia.

The end of the Civil War and the beginning of a new era of people's friendship and cooperation in the early 1950s was a period of history in which the Border Troops were disbanded and the state border regime was maintained through border checkpoints and interrogation points.

Since the Cold War in the 1960s, when the international military-political situation became difficult, there was a need to reorganize the Border Troops. With the establishment of the Ministry of Public Security in 1959, the Border Service Department was established. In 1967, within the Ministry of Public Security, Department for Border and Internal Troops was established, and in 1979, it was renamed the General Authority for Border and Internal Troops.

In 1990, the Ministry of Public Security was disbanded and the Border toops were shifted to under control of the newly established the General Authority for State Security. In 1993, the Law on Borders was adopted and the Directorate for Border Troops was established and until 1996, the DBT was a government infrastructure organization.

The Border Protection Organization has been the Government Regulatory Agency under the Ministry of Defense from 1996 until 2000, and the Ministry of Justice and Home Affairs since 2000. Since 2002, the Border protection organization operates under the name of the General Authority for Border Protection.

The nortern border of Mongolia, with Russia, were redefined by the 1958 and 1976 Border treaties between the People's Republic of Mongolia and the USSR. According to the 1958 agreement, 332nd “ovoo” signs were erected along the 1305 km border line from the northern peak of the Asgat pass to the eastern peak of the Mongol Shari pass, and a fully demarcated border was established.

The total 2180 km border line have been demarcated by the Border treaty between Mongolia and the Soviet Union in 1976, by the Buur Treaty of 1727 years, 1890 km eastern border from the eastern heights of Mongol Shariin Davaa to 645th “ovoo” signs Tarvagan Dah, and by years Tarvagatai City Border treaty in 1864, 290 km western part of border from Asgat Davaa to Altai Tavan Bogd Uul.

The southern border Mongolia was demarcated by the Border treaty between the People's Republic of China and the People's Republic of China in 1962, registered with the United Nations in 1975 and officially recognized internationally.

Taking into account the country's external and internal situation, the government has taken a series of measures to strengthen the protection of the southern border since the 1960s and the northern border since the 1990s.

The Border Protection Organization complies with a total of 52 Mongolian international agreements on border issues (15 between Mongolia and Russia, 13 between Mongolia and China, and 24 between Mongolia and other countries).

The Border Guard's multilateral foreign relations are expanding, and there are more opportunities for bordermen to participate in UN peacekeeping operations, study abroad, and exchange experiences.

The deepening friendly relations and cooperations of border protection authorities between the Mongolian and the neighboring countries is a guarantee of improved border protection and security against challenging environment.

Novadays, The Border protection organization shall improve the service of contract border guards, amend and clarify laws and regulations related to state border protection in accordance with modern requirements, and organize border protection in a regional manner in accordance with nature, weather, place, time and resources.